Charli Mills and her Rough Writers want to see 99 word stories with “spells,” be they from grammar books or otherwise. My story revisits a couple of ladies from my novel “Wolves at Bay.”

 

Nina’s Spell

Written by Kerry E.B. Black

 

Lillian wiped her hands on a towel. “You’re magical, you know?”

Nina crinkled her nose. “Whatever do you mean?”

“Everything you touch, everything you do, is permeated with love, even when people receiving your help doesn’t deserve it.”

Nina tapped her finger on the tabletop. “Everyone deserves love.”

“I don’t think so. If I were treated as badly as you are, I don’t think I’d be as gracious. Certainly, I wouldn’t help them.”

Nina sighed. “People fear difference, worry they’ll catch it or something. I mean to show the palsy’s not contagious, but kindness is.”

“That’s your spell, then.”

2013-02-25 21.13.23

