Ah, I can’t express how grateful I am for well-considered prompts. Thus, I’m excited to have found https://predictionfiction.blogspot.com and its weekly 3-word prompts. The idea is to write a story in exactly 100 words using the provided words. Some of the clever participants write serialized stories. This week’s were “Whist, premonition, and hare.” Follows is what I’ve come up with. What do you think?

 

Self-fulfilling

written by Kerry E.B. Black

 

None would have believed a game of whist could bring about a premonition, but amongst taking tricks and playing trumps (hearts in this case), I experienced a disturbing vision. Blood flooded the drawing room, soaking the carpeting and covering the baseboards. When my partner dealt, red splashed her hare stole. The hems of our opponents’ gowns darkened with unrecognized gore.

Iron assailed my nose and coated my palate until breathing grew difficult. Bright flashes and a high-pitched ringing threatened to disable me. I pushed against a blinding madness. I felt them fight my knife, but my vision would find fulfillment.

