Lisa Reiter and Norah Colvin at Carrot Ranch issued the following challenge: In 99 words (no more, no less) write about a circle in your life. Is it a supportive circle, or a circle that entraps you? What’s its significance? Take you where the prompt leads.

 

Circle of Salt

Written by Kerry E.B. Black

 

I saw it in a movie; a circle of salt protects people from fiends. They can’t cross the line.

So I huddle in the center of an uninterrupted seasoning ring watching the door. I hug the doll Mother gave to me. She’s dressed in a white gown with a teal sash, precisely like the one I wore at Mother’s wedding.

When he comes, he won’t be able to cross the line. I’ll be safe. No person would do what he does. Only a monster could.

When he opens the door, wind scatters the crystals. He laughs. “Yum, a margarita.”

