Ms. May

written by Kerry E.B. Black

 

She calls to me during my dreams,

the one who got away,

with bright brown eyes and pouting mouth,

my Bonnie lass, Ms. May.

 

She lingers at the Corner Store

where once I begged her stay.

She laughed and went on with her friends,

my Bonnie lass, Ms. May.

 

Feeling repentant to church I’d go

and on my knees I’d pray.

‘Twas only her I saw and felt,

my Bonnie lass, Ms. May.

 

The gentle blossom into the wind

did like a kitten stray,

and put her hands into his there,

my Bonnie lass, Ms. May.

 

I warned of errored judgement then

revealed my true dismay.

She tossed her hair and left my heart,

my Bonnie lass, Ms. May.

 

My ardor turned a corner then,

a villain I’d portray.

A garland wound tight round her neck,

my Bonnie lass, Ms. May.

 

I hear her cries, though strangled now,

She no more my prey,

Dulled to a wispy memory,

my Bonnie lass, Ms. May.

april-national-poetry-month-monet-claude-water-lillies

 

 

 

 

