Relating an experience with the http://www.OneYearofLetters.com folks.

One Year of Letters

12935262_10206179914436124_1501851127_n

April 5th, 2016

Photo Identity – Kerry E.B. Black

Dear Reader-

In a society obsessed with image, where care is taken to produce a nonchalant selfie…

Despite hiring an attorney, facing the court to petition for guardianship for my S-Bear, and filing a ton of yearly paperwork, I was informed I needed a photo id for my disabled adult child. So, I took her to the DMV.

There was a wait, as anticipated. The surprise came in the “do not use cellular phones, electronic devices, or earbuds” sign. I stowed the devices in my purse. Beside the sign was another issuing a probation against eating and drinking. To keep from annoying the others caught in the purgatory that is the DMV, we sat off on our own. I did my best to occupy two short-attention-spanned young people. We petted S-bear’s service dog and talked with two other bored little girls…

View original post 998 more words

