My latest addition to the One Year Of Letters project.Please do check out the page. oneyearofletters.com

One Year of Letters

11165833_10204057442575654_577907041_nPlanting a Garden

April 27th, 2015

Dear Kerry,

I’ve heard planting a garden represents a supreme act of hope, and I believe it. I’ve spent a small fortune and tremendous hours composting to amend the clay in my yard. Flats and seeds, bulbs and plants I place with care, researching ideal sun exposure and zones. I dig and weed, prune and train each plant with care. I lavish attention and resources to see a success. With each back-breaking labor, I imagine plants ripe with luscious fruit or swollen with bounty and beds brimming with fragrant offerings pleasing to all the senses. I welcome the blooms as friends. My heart leaps at the sight of new growth and mourns the insect-eaten or unsuccessful.

Because of the demands on my life, I chose a lot of perennials, relying on their tenacious natures to return and grace the garden year after year. I…

View original post 154 more words

